Council Elections 

2017 Council Elections 

CRPO is holding elections for Council members in District 2 – North and 4 – Central East from June 1 until 12:00 pm June 30, 2017. A list of candidates and their Candidate Statements is available for review prior to voting.

In addition to districts that will be electing members in June, the following candidates were acclaimed in their respective districts:
  • District 3 – East, Shelley Briscoe-Dimock
  • District 6 – Central West, Glorie Taponeswa Chimbganda

Eligibility to Vote 

CRPO Members whose primary practice site or residence (if they are not practising) was located in one of the Electoral Districts mentioned above on March 31, 2017 may vote. Members eligible to vote (those who practise or reside in Ontario) will find information about submitting their votes on the “Election” tab of their CRPO User Account.

Role of Council Members

The role of Council members (elected and appointed) is to protect and uphold the public interest through their Council and committee work. It is not to “represent” CRPO Members, nor is it to represent the interests of any particular sector of the profession. The Council governs the profession in the public interest, striving to ensure that professional practice standards, including the professional conduct of Members, are maintained and enhanced; and that Members are supported in their continuing professional development.

Through their work on committee panels, Council members are also directly involved in reviewing complex and/or ‘irregular’ applications for registration, and dealing with complaints about Members’ professional conduct and/or competence, among other concerns. Committee work is an essential part of every Council member’s role. Council Members can expect to serve on several committees, some of which meet infrequently, others more often. Time commitments are variable; however, there will be five or six full-day Council meetings per year. In addition, each Council Member should expect to attend committee or panel meetings one to two full-days per month; preparation time is also required.  All meetings are held at Council offices in Toronto.

Term of Office

Council Members are normally elected to three-year terms, except in the case of the first elected Council.  Terms of office for the first elected Council will be staggered to ensure a measure of continuity. For this reason, Council Members will hold office for the following terms:

  • Members elected in District 2 (North), District 3 (East) and District 4 (Central East) will hold office until Fall 2017;
  • Members elected in District 1 (West), District 5 (South West) and District 6 (Central West) will hold office until Fall 2018; and
  • Members elected in Districts 7 (Central) and District 8 (All Ontario) hold office until Fall 2019.

SourceCRPO By-laws, provision 10.02 “Election Date”.

Council Member Expenses and Remuneration

Elected Council members will be reimbursed for travel expenses, including hotel accommodation if required, and will receive per diem remuneration for attendance at Council and committee/panel meetings, as well as for preparation time, at the rate of $225 per day. Preparation time is prorated in accordance with the duration of the meeting. For example, up to one day’s preparation time can be claimed for attendance at a one-day meeting, etc.

Election related questions should be sent to