The Psychotherapy Act, 2007 was proclaimed by the Ontario government on April 1, 2015, bringing the College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario (CRPO) into full operation as a health regulatory college. CRPO regulates its members in the public interest under the Psychotherapy Act, 2007 and the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 (RHPA). Only members of CRPO can use the protected title “Registered Psychotherapist”, along with the professional designation, RP.

CRPO fulfills its mandate to protect the public interest by:

More details about the specific objects of the College are set out in section 3 of the Health Professions Procedural Code.

Mission, Vision and Values

To develop standards and procedures to regulate psychotherapists in the public interest, striving to ensure competent and ethical practice within a professional accountability framework.

Leadership in professional self-regulation, dedicated to the principles of excellence, fairness, openness, responsiveness and respect for diversity.

Leadership, Excellence, Accountability, Equity, Integrity, Teamwork, Respect, Openness


CRPO is governed by a Council of nine elected members and as many public members as are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor-in-Council in accordance with section six of the Psychotherapy Act, 2007. The Council and its committees make decisions related to registration requirements, standards of practice, continuing professional development and the professional conduct of members, along with developing and monitoring regulations, policies and business systems for CRPO. Council’s duties are supported by a number of statutory and non-statutory committees, as well as by CRPO staff.

Read more about CRPO’s Council and Committees.

Controlled Act of Psychotherapy

The Psychotherapy Act, 2007 was proclaimed on April 1, 2015 and the controlled act of psychotherapy was proclaimed into force on December 30, 2017.

Proclamation included provisions in the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 setting out the controlled act of psychotherapy and authorizing members of six colleges[1]  to perform it in compliance with the acts, regulations and by-laws that govern each of their professions. It also included the provision permitting members of the other colleges who are authorized to perform the controlled act of psychotherapy to use the title “psychotherapist”, in compliance with certain conditions.

The proclamation incorporated an amendment that provides for a two-year transition period, beginning December 31, 2017, so that individuals may become registered with the appropriate colleges or change their practices so that they do not perform the controlled act of psychotherapy. By the end of the two-year transition period, anyone performing the controlled act of psychotherapy must be registered with one of the six colleges whose members are eligible to do so.

[1] In addition to members of CRPO, this includes members of College of Psychologists of Ontario, Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers, College of Nurses of Ontario, College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario, and College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario.

Registered Mental Health Therapist (RMHT) Cateogory

In early 2013, Council decided to defer further consideration of the RMHT category of membership until after proclamation of the Psychotherapy Act, 2007. This decision came shortly after the transitional Council was informed by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) that it did not agree that practitioners proposed as members in the RMHT category should be regulated by the new College.